Remembering a birth 25 years ago


May 29, 2012

I woke up this morning and told my son, Cameron, “Happy Birthday. I miss you. I love you and wish you were here so I could get a huge hug from you.” But this can only happen in my dreams now as Cameron ended his life on earth August 11, 2005. I’m not sad today because I still gave birth at 8:24 a.m. to a beautiful 9 pounds 2 ounces baby boy 25 years ago.

Cameron was born two weeks past his due date and three days after his dad’s birthday. We went to the hospital on Thursday, May 28th. I had been walking like crazy for the previous two weeks trying to urge this resistant baby to make his or her entrance into the world.

After I was checked into a room at the hospital, they said I had not progressed enough and wanted to send me home. I had determined that I did not want a June baby as there were plenty of those already in my family. So they gave me the option to induce labor. I promptly voted “YES!” to that option. I was more than ready to meet my baby!

Boy, things really moved along after labor was induced. My plan was to have my baby naturally but as I was having severe back pain, my mother encouraged me to take a muscle relaxer. (Mom worked in Labor and Delivery for many years so I trusted her advice.) I agreed reluctantly because I had hoped to bring my baby into the world drug-free.

After seven hours or so, it was finally time to deliver the baby. I did manage to bring my baby into the world without any additional medication though. I gave birth to my soon-to-be son without the help of an epidural (very commonplace these days). I had one small problem though – when it was time for me to push, I just wanted to sleep! I gave out of energy and my doctor used suction to help delivery Cameron.

When they told me I had a boy, I was surprised because my older sister and mother had convinced me I was going to have a girl. I asked, “Are you sure?” They were quite sure and I was as well when they put him on my chest to admire.

After I confirmed that I did indeed have a baby boy J.C., my husband, cut the umbilical cord and gave his son his first bath. That was quite a bonding moment and very touching.

Once my baby boy was in my room, I immediately fell in love with him. I was somewhat terrified though as I didn’t know how to pick him up. I suppose some mothers have that innate ability but I didn’t. I had to learn quickly though as my husband had a “gig” to play at the beach that night and had to leave that same day. J.C. was a musician and felt he must go play or else he would have the cause for many people to not get paid which I understood. So off he went.

J.C. returned the next day in time to take Cameron and I home. We arrived back at our apartment behind Crabtree Valley and I was lost as to what to do next. Shouldn’t the hospital give you a book of how to take of your newborn baby?

My mother would have been there helping but she had a prearranged trip to go white water rafting with a group and carried on with her plans. (Boy, this is all sounding really bizarre as I remember all the facts!) But we settled down as a little family and survived our first few days alone without any additional help.

Even though I lost Cameron far earlier than a mother should have, I still cherish giving birth to him and the 18 years we shared together.

Happy birthday Cameron today and forever.

Till we meet again,

Love,
Mom

2 Responses to “Remembering a birth 25 years ago”

  1. Carolyn, what a beautiful memory. Cameron was such a sweet little boy. I love my memories of seeing him through my door when we lived next to each other in that duplex. He’d put his little face up to the screen and peer in. I say, “Hey, Cameron. Wha’cha doing?!” and he’d turn and run back to his door. Then, we do it all again. Happy Birthday Cameron! Miss you!

    Like

Leave a comment