Teens can learn about Suicide and Depression, too!


I gave Cameron a Sunshine Carebear for that what he was to me!

I recently had the privilege to speak to teens at a local high school at an event that is usually – or hopefully – attended by many parents. I could count the parents on one hand but one teacher had her swim team (I think this is right) attend my presentation. There were several other teens there as well. Some stayed on the back row in the auditorium and some sat on the front row. But they stayed and listened.

Let me explain that my goal is to teach parents about their kids and how to reconnect with them so they are more aware of these fast growing creatures who inhabit their homes. I don’t want parents to push their teens aside as if they are all grown up just because teens often act this way, or at least that’s what they want to pretend. If parents are in tune with their teens, they will notice the signs of depression and/or substance abuse and get them the help they need and deserve.

But on Wednesday night, I was surprised how much I was going to have to alter my presentation. I do have a backup presentation with pages just for teens stuck in among the ones meant for parents. But in reality, all the information pertains to both audiences. Sure, there are topics in my presentation that teens don’t want to hear like “remove their cell phones from their bedroom at night so they can SLEEP!” or “if your teen is on Facebook, they better ‘friend’ you” but heck, I like that they have to hear these things.

These teens were mostly very respectful of what I had to share and also responded when I asked questions of them. But what got their attention the most was when I opened up to them and shared the most horrific day in my life. After I finished going through my slides, I told them how I felt the day I found my son had hung himself. I explained how I had to cut him down from where he hung and how I gave him CPR. They all were very silent and listened. I pray this made an impact on them. I closed with “please don’t do drugs” as that’s ultimately what made my son chose death over life.

The event was videoed and once I get it edited, I will share snippets. In the meantime, I would love to speak to your group of parents and/or teens. The signs of teen depression can be found at save-the-teens.com.

Have a great holiday season with your teens while I keep the memories of my son close to my heart.

Leave a comment